Meriel Brooks | Prescott College

Meriel Brooks

Ph.D.
Hochschul- und Universitätsbibliotheken

Ph.D. Universität von Arizona, 1992, Ökologie und Evolutionsbiologie

Dissertation: Ontogenese und Evolution des sexuellen Dimorphismus bei Paraclinin-Blennies (Teleostei: Labrisomidae) Berater: Richard E. Strauss

BS Universität von Arizona mit Auszeichnung 1984


Publikationen

Lynda M. Fried, Matthew C. Boyer und Meriel J. Brooks 2018 Amphibienreaktion auf Rotenonbehandlung von zehn Alpenseen im Nordwesten von Montana. Nordamerikanische Zeitschrift für Fischereimanagement DOI: 10.1002 / nafm.10022

Mauhs-Pugh, T. & M. Brooks 2013 Auf der Suche nach "produktiven, fürsorglichen und erfüllenden Leben" durch die freien Künste im College-Lehrplan: Ein von Joseph DeVitis (Peter Lang Publishing, NY) herausgegebener Leser.

Stepien, CA, AK Dillon, MJ Brooks, KL Chase und AN Hubers 1997 Die Entwicklung von Blennioiden auf der Grundlage einer Analyse der mitochondrialen 12S rDNA. pp 245-270 in Molekulare Systematik der Fische. Hrsg. TD Kocher und CA Stepien. Akademische Presse

Brooks, MJ 1991 Die Ontogenese des sexuellen Dimorphismus: Quantitative Modelle und eine Fallstudie bei Labrisomidenblennies (Teleostei: Paraclinus). Syst. Zool. 40 (3): 271-283.

Präsentationen

Minnow-Bevölkerungsstruktur entlang Flusskorridoren und Konnektivität zwischen Einzugsgebieten. Nordöstliche Naturkundekonferenz, Springfield, MA (2015)

Lehren aus dem Pleistozän Gesellschaft für Humanökologie, Bar Harbor, ME (2014)

Rekolonisationsgeschichte des Langnasen-Tölpels (Rhinichthys cataractae), wie durch die Bevölkerungsstruktur in den südlichen Abflüssen des Champlain-Sees aufgedeckt. Northeast Fish & Wildlife Conference, Portland, ME (2014)

Gehen nur tote Fische mit dem Strom? Amerikanische Gesellschaft für Ichthyologen und Herpetologen, Portland (2009)

Larvenfische treiben im Poultney River. Northeast Fish & Wildlife Conference Früher Drift von Larvenfischen in einem kleinen Fluss im Nordosten: ein Test von Hypothesen Galloway, NJ (2008)

Rätsel für eine nachhaltige Freizeitfischerei im Nordosten der USA.Gesellschaft für Humanökologie, Rio, Brasilien (2007)

Drift von Larvenfischen in einem kleinen Fluss im Nordosten: ein Test von Hypothesen Abteilung für frühe Lebensgeschichte der American Fisheries Society (2006)

Auszeichnungen, Stipendien und Ehrungen

Grants

National Science Foundation (2009), Vermont EPSCoR (Experimentelles Programm zur Stimulierung der Wettbewerbsforschung) Zuschuss: Entwicklung eines Index der biotischen Integrität für Larval Cyprinidae zur Überprüfung der Wasserqualität. $ 14,792 in Zusammenarbeit mit Brad Coupe, Castleton State College.

Davis Educational Foundation (2008-2011) Bewertung von Nachhaltigkeitskompetenzen: Entwicklung von Lernergebnissen Bewertung für das Green Mountain College-Programm für freie Künste im Umweltbereich, $ 248,000.00, in Zusammenarbeit mit William Throop, Provost Green Mountain College und Tom Mauhs-Pugh, Dekan der Fakultät, Green Mountain College.

National Science Foundation (2004-06) -Kurs, Lehrplan und Zuschuss für Laborverbesserung, DUE: Problembasiertes Lernen durch Laborerfahrung in Biochemie und Evolution mit Natalie Coe. $ 48,000.00 in 2004 für das akademische Jahr 2005-06 verliehen.

National Science Foundation (2000) EPSCoR in Vermont (Experimentelles Programm zur Stimulierung der Wettbewerbsforschung) Zuschuss: Auswahl des Lebensraums und Verbreitung von Alewife-Larven im Lake St. Catherine, VT.

Stipendien und Auszeichnungen

Postdoktorandenstipendium in molekularer Evolutionsbiologie (Case Western Reserve University 1992-1993)

Graduate School Awards: Graduiertenkolleg-Stipendium, Sigma Xi-Forschungsstipendium, Graduiertenkolleg-Programmentwicklungsfonds, Abteilungssommerforschungspreis, Feldmuseum für Naturgeschichte (Unterstützung für Sammlungsarbeiten), Graduiertenstipendium (zweimal vergeben).

Meriel Brooks | Prescott College

Meriel Brooks

Ph.D.
Education

Ph.D.  University of Arizona, 1992,  Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

     Dissertation: Ontogeny and evolution of sexual dimorphism in Paraclinin blennies (Teleostei:Labrisomidae)   Advisor: Richard E. Strauss

 B.S.  University of Arizona  with distinction 1984


 

Publications

Lynda M. Fried, Matthew C. Boyer, and Meriel J. Brooks  2018 Amphibian Response to Rotenone Treatment of Ten Alpine Lakes in Northwest Montana.   North American Journal of Fisheries Management DOI: 10.1002/nafm.10022

Mauhs-Pugh, T. & M. Brooks 2013 Seeking ‘Productive, Caring, and Fulfilling Lives’ through the Environmental Liberal Arts in The College Curriculum: A Reader  edited by Joseph DeVitis (Peter Lang Publishing, NY).

Stepien, C.A., A. K. Dillon, M.J. Brooks, K.L. Chase, and A. N. Hubers  1997  The evolution of blennioid fishes based on an analysis of mitochondrial 12S rDNA.  pp 245-270  in Molecular Systematics of Fishes.   Eds T.D. Kocher and C.A. Stepien.  Academic Press

Brooks, M.J. 1991  The ontogeny of sexual dimorphism: Quantitative models and a case study in labrisomid blennies (Teleostei: Paraclinus).  Syst. Zool. 40(3):271-283.

Presentations

Minnow population structure along river corridors and connectivity between basins. Northeast Natural History Conference, Springfield MA  (2015)

Lessons from the Pleistocene Society for Human Ecology, Bar Harbor, ME (2014)

Recolonization history of the longnose dace (Rhinichthys cataractae) as revealed by population structure in southern Lake Champlain drainages. Northeast Fish & Wildlife Conference, Portland ME (2014)

Do only dead fish go with the flow? American Society of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists, Portland (2009)

Larval fish drift in the Poultney River. Northeast Fish & Wildlife Conference, Drift of larval fish in a small northeastern river: a test of hypotheses Galloway, NJ (2008)

Puzzles for sustainable recreational fisheries in the northeastern United States.Society for Human Ecology, Rio, Brazil (2007)

Drift of larval fish in a small northeastern river: a test of hypotheses Early Life History Section of American Fisheries Society (2006)

Awards, Grants, & Honors

Grants

National Science Foundation (2009)  Vermont EPSCoR (Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research) Grant: Developing an Index of Biotic Integrity for Larval Cyprinidae to Test Water Quality.  $14,792  co-authored with Brad Coupe, Castleton State College.

Davis Educational Foundation (2008-2011)  Assessing Sustainability Skills:  Developing Learning Outcomes Assessments for Green Mountain College’s Environmental Liberal Arts Program, $248,000.00, co-authored with William Throop, Provost Green Mountain College and Tom Mauhs-Pugh, Dean of the Faculty, Green Mountain College.

National Science Foundation (2004-06)  Course, Curriculum, & Laboratory Improvement Grant, DUE: Problem-based Learning through the Laboratory Experience in Biochemistry and Evolution with Natalie Coe.  $48,000.00 awarded in 2004 for 2005-06 academic year.

National Science Foundation (2000)  Vermont EPSCoR (Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research) Grant: Habitat Selection and Distribution of Alewife Larvae in Lake St. Catherine, VT.         

Scholarships and Awards

Post-Doctoral Fellowship in Molecular Evolutionary Biology (Case Western Reserve University 1992-1993)

Graduate School Awards: Research Training Group Fellowship, Sigma Xi Grants-in-aid of Research, Graduate Student Program Development Fund, Departmental Summer Research Award, Field Museum of Natural History (support for work in collections), Graduate Academic Scholarship (awarded twice).